The Start of another School Year

Well it’s that time again, that’s right, another year of college.  I am now starting my junior year of college.  So far it seems like my classes will be reasonable and something I will enjoy.  I am taking Database Systems, Networking, Calculus 1, and Principles of Sociology.

I have a brand new professor to my University this semester for my Database class.  He seems to be a very understanding gentleman.  He is actually pretty close to my age.  He graduated with a Ph.D. from Georgia not too long ago.  It’s kinda nice to have a professor near my age.  It makes the class feel a little more comfortable and relaxed.  He even stated that he prefers teaching as if it is a friend-to-friend teaching method.  I have been looking forward to this class all summer.  I’ll try to post more about it later.

As for my other classes…they should be about normal.  Calculus and Sociology are just more GenEd’s I have to take.  I decided to take Networking as one of my elected, major classes.  I worked a lot in networking in High School so I do have some background on it.  I felt this is a class that will come in handy in the long wrong when it comes time for me to look for a career.

In other news, I am currently in pursuit of purchasing an HDTV.  I have a Vizio picked out at the moment that catches my eye.  It’s a 42″, 1080p, 5000:1 resolution.  It has a very, very nice picture and it’s a great size that will work well in my living room.  I am waiting to see if it get’s any price drop for Labor Day weekend sales.  It’s saling at under 900 at the moment which isn’t bad at all.  I am sure that I will look into Blue Ray players soon after I purchase a new tv.  I know September is a big month for some popular movies to be released on DVD/Blue Ray.  I know that Iron Man is at the top of my list, along with Season 1 of Terminator:  The Sarah Conner Cronicles, LOST, and HEROES.  If you have any recommendations feel free to comment or send me an email:  luke.irvin@gmail.com

Don’t have much news on current movies.  I have seen Step Brothers and Pineapple Express here lately.  They were both very funny and not a bad choice if you are hanging out with friends and have nothing else to do.  I will be going to see The Dark Knight for the third time tonight, of course on the IMAX screen ^_^!

I have updated my links with some of my favorite sites.  I am big on using Twitter and Facebook.  The rest are fun sites to check out.

My podcast idea is still in the works.  I am in the process of looking for some decent microphones and then I’ll be getting to work on it.  I’ll update as soon as it’s getting closer to being released.

Luke

Leave a Reply

